Sub Menu
Latest News
  • Jones Waldo Announces New Litigation Department Chair...
  • Jones Waldo Elects New Shareholder ...
  • Jones Waldo Raises Funds for Utah Dispute Resolution ...
  • more


print version

Jones Waldo Law Firm’s Litigation Department is involved in a broad spectrum of cases in state and federal courts and before various administrative agencies. With strong emphasis on commercial and business-related litigation, our lawyers act as litigation counsel for a large number of national and international corporations and represent a wide variety of clients in all areas of commercial and business law.  Jones Waldo has offices in Salt Lake City, Park City, St. George, Provo, and Chicago.  The Litigation Department of Jones Waldo also handles cases from corporate federal cases with the Park City office and personal injury law in the Provo office.

Timothy C. Houpt brings more than thirty years of experience to chair the firm’s Litigation Department. Houpt, also chair of the IP Litigation and the Arbitration & Mediation Practice Groups, was named a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers in 2010. Michael Patrick O'Brien, with more than twenty years of experience in Employment and Media Law, was named Employment Lawyer of the Year by Best Lawyers in 2011 and 2012. The firm was recognized as Best in State in both 2008 and 2009 by Corporate Board Magazine. The litigation group boasts some big names in the region as long-standing clients, including The Salt Lake Tribune, Zions Bank, Wells Fargo Bank, Albertsons, Convergys, Omniture,, St. Mark's Hospital, MountainStar Healthcare and Bonneville International Corporation.

Many department litigators have also transitioned successfully to judgeships, demonstrating the experience and skill in law kindled within the firm. Six current sitting judges moved directly from the firm’s litigation department to the bench, one serving on the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals. Jones Waldo litigators have also served as Justice of the Utah Supreme Court, Utah Attorney General, Utah Solicitor General and in the Utah State Legislature. One of the firm’s former litigators served as Utah’s only three-term governor from 1960 to 1976. Another former litigator was elected as Lawyer of the year by the Utah State Bar in 1989.

Practice Groups & Group Leaders
Administrative Advocacy - Robinson (Rob) M. Alston
Antitrust - James S. Lowrie
Appellate Litigation - Bruce Wycoff
Arbitration and Mediation - Timothy C. Houpt
Bankruptcy and Creditors' Rights - Jeffrey Weston Shields
Commercial Litigation - John C. Rooker
Competitive Issues - James S. Lowrie
Construction Law - Craig R. Mariger
Direct Sales - Paul M. Harman
Domestic and Family Law
Employment and Labor Law - Michael Patrick O'Brien
Environmental Litigation - Lucy B. Jenkins
Franchise Law - Lewis M. Francis
Immigration - Lewis M. Francis
Insurance/Tort - Angus Edwards
Intellectual Property Litigation - Timothy C. Houpt
International Law - Timothy B. Anderson
Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility - Gary G. Sackett
Litigation and Advocacy for Land Use and Environmental Law - Vincent C. Rampton
Litigation, St. George
Media - Michael Patrick O'Brien
Plaintiff Personal Injury and Medical Malpractice Group - Lynn C. Harris
Private Litigation Services - Kenneth A. Okazaki
Professional Malpractice - Timothy C. Houpt